500 Albums Challenge 2/500: Pet Sounds-The Beach Boys

Henry Zhan
2 min readNov 2, 2020

--

(I’m started a plan on Nov.1, 2020, to go through the Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of all time list. I’m planning on doing 1–2 albums every day, and I hope to finish it by the end of 2021. I will be writing my reactions to every single album on Medium.)

So there we go, Day 2. This one is on the Beach Boys. I’ve heard of the band before but never listened to their music. I do know that Pet Sounds is a really famous album, really redefining music production.

Let’s Go…

  1. Wouldn’t It Be Nice- Nice start for the album. I like this way better than soul music. The production sounds weird though. I don’t know how to explain, but it feels like the voice is coming from far away. But I really enjoyed the song overall.
  2. You Still Believe In Me- Okay, I thought the Beach Boys were a rock band but this felt more like pop music. Or maybe a combination? Not sure of that.
  3. That’s Not Me- So far all the songs are talking about love, that’s a sharp contrast to Marvin Gaye’s What’s Going On. This track is really smooth tho.
  4. Don’t Talk(Put Your Head On My Shoulder)- Interesting background instruments lol. So far I still like Track 1 the most.
  5. I’m Waiting For The Day- The instruments at the break is really unique. I wonder what that is. The drum is unique too.
  6. Let’s Go Away For Awhile-Wow, no vocals here, just the instruments. Probably the singers are “away for awhile”.
  7. Sloop John B-Second favorite track so far!
  8. God Only Knows-Would love it better if it sounds more harmonic. Still a great song.
  9. I Know There’s An Answer-
  10. Here Today-
  11. I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times-
  12. Pet Sounds- Another pure instrumental track. So this is what they mean by “Pet Sounds”?
  13. Caroline Ho-

Overall, this does feel like a special album. The Beach Boys used some instruments that I’ve never heard of before. One thing I don’t like about the album is many songs just feel inharmonic. Maybe that’s the way 60s pop music sounds like lol. But anyway, I still like it better than the Marvin Gaye album. “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” would be my favorite track. :)

--

--